Uncategorized

Very Hungry Caterpillar 2nd Birthday Party

Our little man turned two this April and while we did not have a huge party like we did for his first birthday we did have a small get together with family and close friends.

Last minute minute I decided that it was going to be Hungry Caterpillar theme.

image

It started with a quick Pinterest search and board to get some Ideas decorations and food which turns out really easy with print offs I found and only required me purchasing what the Very Hungry Caterpillar ate which I then assembled into a plate. How easy can a birthday  party get when all you need to do is cut fruit?image

 

I purchased the napkins and plates from IKEA and they were a bargain on sale in the reduced section 49cents . I purchased some fabric from Spotlight and made some little crown hats for the kids to wear and keep for dress- ups. I also made the bunting which was really easy I just googled how to make bunting and followed a youtube video.image

 

I hand made the Hungry caterpillar with Fondant and Gumpaste. And a couple of colours of food colouring and just tie to shape it like a caterpillar on the book. Warning if you do this I highly recommend using gloves otherwise you will end up like me with green hands.

 

The cake was in no way perfect I had ran out of time to put it together I made the butter cream in my Thermomix TM5 using the recipe chip but It did not have enough icing so I added a heap more until I was happy it tasted like butter cream and was beautiful and whipped. For those in AUS who want to know how to get white butter cream use Lurpark Butter. The cake as as easy as adding colouring to equal quantities of the batter. I quickly slapped it together the night before and popped it in the fridge to set.

image

image

One of the other things I did for the kids was make some play dough this was done in the Thermomix and my daughter added the food colouring to some read and green and some eyes are pipe cleaners for ears I was so grateful for her help I would have forgotten about it and not had time.

Overall he had a ball.

Leave a Reply

